News:

Precision Simulator update 10.173 (24 February 2024) is now available.
Navburo update 13 (23 November 2022) is now available.
NG FMC and More is released.

Main Menu

Need newbie tip - programming external devices

Started by Aleks, Fri, 14 Oct 2022 10:44

Aleks

I am complete newbie with programming external devices.

Any tip for where to start for connecting and programming buttons on Streamdeck XL and Behringer X-touch mini?

I am posting links to products, so you understand what I am talking about.
Elgato Streamdeck - https://www.elgato.com/en/stream-deck-xl
https://www.behringer.com/product.html?modelCode=P0B3M

I use both extensively with MSFS addons, through AxisAndOhs, but have no clue where to even start when it comes to Aerowinx PSX :)

Thank you in advance.

Jeroen Hoppenbrouwers

Briefly, there are two completely separate options to control PSX "from outside".

1. Use USB controls including keyboard key presses. This depends on PSX having an existing option for the function you want to control. See the PSX USB pages in the Instructor interface. If a function you need is not there, you have no other choice, you have to go to...

2. Use a network command. PSX is pretty much the only simulator out there that has practically everything accessible in a documented, supported way via the (Ethernet) network. This feature is mainly there to be able to effortlessly link and synchronize multiple instances of the PSX program, which is quite unique, but as a side effect it also allows other programs ("add-ons") to become part of the simulator.

To use a network command, you need basic programming skills, and there are several examples available in several programming languages to get you started. I don't know whether the Streamdeck and the X-touch have any other interface except for the keystrokes they emit.

Hoppie

Will