News:

Precision Simulator update 10.173 (24 February 2024) is now available.
Navburo update 13 (23 November 2022) is now available.
NG FMC and More is released.

Main Menu

Is PSX Java compatible with Apple M1 silicon processor?

Started by Gilad, Tue, 1 Dec 2020 12:42

Gilad

Thank you very much Hardy.

Question for you.

Do you know whether the PSX Java applet is/would be compatible with the new apple M1 silicon processor?

Hardy Heinlin

Quote from: Gilad - CAL Cargo on Tue,  1 Dec 2020 12:42
Do you know whether the PSX Java applet is/would be compatible with the new apple M1 silicon processor?

I have no experience with the M1, but the actual question is if the computer that contains the M1 (or any other processor) can run Java. If the computer works with OSX as usual, it certainly can run Java as well.

|-|ardy

Gilad

Hi  Hardy,

Just to update you, Java VER 8 update 271, when i load the aerowinxstart.jar it does nothing. I assume there is some sort of compatibility issues with the new silicon processor.

Hopefully it will get fixed in the upcoming Big Sur OSX update.

Thanks.

Jeroen Hoppenbrouwers

It is more likely that the Java is not properly installed; "nothing" usually means "did not even try." I think you may have more luck starting it all from a command line?

Gilad

So, using Azul JDK I was able to get the aerowinxstart.jar to respond, but then I get a small window saying double click aerowinxstart.jar to start the simulator. The only thing that does load all the way is the aerowinxnetstart.jar.

Any ideas?

Hardy Heinlin

So your AerowinxNetStart.jar starts multiple PSX instances successfully without the yellow hint
-- while your AerowinxStart.jar does show the yellow hint?

That's unusual. AerowinxNetStart.jar contains the same code as AerowinxStart.jar, the only difference being the amount of starts.