Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

News:
Precision Simulator update 10.156 (3 July 2022) is now available.
Navburo update 12 (18 November 2021) is now available.
NG FMC and More is released.

Author Topic: PSX + X-Plane for scenery  (Read 320027 times)

metalmike

  • Join date: Oct 2020
  • Posts: 16
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #800 on: Sat, 30 Jan 2021 20:54 »
I've been having another issue. I haven't been able to connect to Vatsim/xPilot. Is there a special trick to do this? When I open up xPilot and connect to the network, there are only dashes through the boxes where the radio freqs would be (in the xpilot client). Plane is fully powered up in PSX, and connected to XP in xView.

Just reporting that I figured it out. I didn't realize I had to start the dummy PSX Plane in XP 'with engines running'.

Hammerstan

  • Join date: Mar 2017
  • Location: YMML
  • Posts: 70
  • twitch.tv/hammerstan
    • twitch.tv/hammerstan
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #801 on: Mon, 1 Feb 2021 12:27 »
I also commented on one of your YT channels as I am trying to replicate your setup.
My twitch and youtube videos involve post production mixing of the PSX and XP11 displays via OBS.  If you wish to overlay XP11 visuals on PSX during "game play" you will have to run them both on the same PC per the previous post.

a_wassermann

  • Join date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 2
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #802 on: Tue, 2 Feb 2021 19:47 »
Thanks, I had realized that I was misled. It was actually clear when I tried to imagine that the 60FPS video should be transferred through LAN from one PC to the other. I had already done what you proposed, I setup to run PSX on my X-Plane PC. And yes, it is powerful enough to do that.

I kind of moved the display setup of PSX to the bottom and moved the view from the cockpit in X-Plane to the top. It is not such an immersive feeling as flying a 747 in X-Plane. But it worked.

Unfortunately X-Plane had issues when I flew without PSX. I actually couldn't get my Tolles Airbus 321 to act as before. So I had to re-install everything. Quite a nightmare actually. So atm I will fly the PSX without X-Plane views. I will investigate this again with MS FS. But first I will enjoy both planes for a while.

Thanks again.

jcomm

  • Join date: Dec 2011
  • Location: LPMT
  • Posts: 1638
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #803 on: Tue, 2 Feb 2021 21:48 »
Unfortunately X-Plane had issues when I flew without PSX. I actually couldn't get my Tolles Airbus 321 to act as before. So I had to re-install everything. Quite a nightmare actually. So atm I will fly the PSX without X-Plane views. I will investigate this again with MS FS. But first I will enjoy both planes for a while.

Thanks again.

You will not have those issues with other aircraft if instead of dropping the plugin that comes with the xview 744 into the main Resources\Plugins folder you drop it into the spcecific xview 744 Plugins folder under Aircraft.

That way it'll only get loaded when you select that aircraft for a PSX with XP Visuals session.
« Last edit: Wed, 3 Feb 2021 12:48 by jcomm »

florismulock

  • Join date: Jul 2016
  • Posts: 183
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #804 on: Sun, 16 May 2021 15:09 »
Could anyone share the xview file?  If i go to the website i get Domain Holding Page. I need it for xplane 11



Swiso

  • Join date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 142
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #805 on: Sun, 16 May 2021 16:19 »
Could anyone share the xview file?  If i go to the website i get Domain Holding Page. I need it for xplane 11
Here it is...you'll find three versions of this file..don't know which version is the most recent.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/k2ankzr6876an1e/AAAOnYhG2n7PdYtWdhG1QgJKa?dl=0

florismulock

  • Join date: Jul 2016
  • Posts: 183
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #806 on: Sun, 16 May 2021 23:30 »
thank you!

744

  • Steve Beckett
  • Join date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 50
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #807 on: Sat, 17 Jul 2021 22:03 »
Evening all, I'm having an issue networking X-Plane and PSX.
Can anyone tell me whereI find X-View notepad?
Is it located within PSX or X-Plane, or is it a separate download.

From reading the thread above, I suspect I need to correct the file to read :-

SETTINGS PATH="D:\X-Plane 11"

Kind regards,

Steve.
macOS BigSur V11.4

jcomm

  • Join date: Dec 2011
  • Location: LPMT
  • Posts: 1638
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #808 on: Sat, 17 Jul 2021 22:19 »
Evening all, I'm having an issue networking X-Plane and PSX.
Can anyone tell me whereI find X-View notepad?
Is it located within PSX or X-Plane, or is it a separate download.

From reading the thread above, I suspect I need to correct the file to read :-

SETTINGS PATH="D:\X-Plane 11"

Kind regards,

Steve.

It should be in X-Plane's root folder.
The Plugin folder should be placed inside the XView 744 if you don't want to mess around with other X-Plane aircraft when not using it with PSX. If you place the plugin in X-Plane's main / General plugin folder it'll affect all loaded aircraft from there on each time you load X-Plane ( 10 or 11 ).

744

  • Steve Beckett
  • Join date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 50
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #809 on: Sun, 18 Jul 2021 00:02 »
Thanks for the reply Jcomm.
I have found it, but still no success getting it to work.

Does this look correct? Not sure if the relay address should be changed. I have run the RELAY ADDRESS with 192.168.1.90 but it made no difference.
 
HEADER = "XView Configuration File Sat Oct 18 19:20:18 2014"
SETTINGS_PATH = "D:\X-Plane 11"
BOOST_ADDRESS = "192.168.1.90 : 10749"   ; IP address
MAIN_ADDRESS  = "192.168.1.90 : 10747"   ; IP address
RELAY_ADDRESS = "127.0.0.1 : 10740"   ; IP address
RELAY_BOOST_DATA = FALSE    ; Set to true if XView relays boost data
SMOOTH_TRAJECTORY = FALSE   ; Extrapolate between PSX updates (default: FALSE)
DO_ANIMATIONS = TRUE       ; Animate external parts, eg gear, etc(default: TRUE)
DO_LIGHTS = TRUE           ; Animate lights (default: TRUE)
DO_WEATHER = TRUE          ; Set true if PSX sets X-Plane weather
DO_COMMS = TRUE            ; Set true if PSX  sets X-Plane comms
DO_TIME = TRUE             ; Set true if PSX sets X-Plane time
SIDE_VIEWS = FALSE          ; Set TRUE to allow PSX to set X-Plane view angle
USE_BOOST_SERVER = TRUE    ; Set to TRUE to use Boost server - the normal setting
PSX_TRAFFIC = 3         ; Set to the number of traffic planes you want driven by PSX (max 7)
USE_PSX_TRAFFIC = FALSE     ; Set true if PSX drives the traffic aircraft
USE_XP_TRAFFIC =  FALSE     ; Set true if XP drives the traffic aircraft
INJECT_ELEVATION = TRUE    ; Set to true to send scenery elevation to Main server


I'm running X-Plane 11 on an iMac with Big Sur V11.4

PSX >Preferences>Basics
Host Address 192.168.1.90
Port 10747

Network>Main
The main server
Boost server : Started listening for client


X-Plane>Network>Receiving Data From
IP 192.168.1.90 Port 10747

No incoming data

Accept incoming connections : On
macOS BigSur V11.4

Ton van Bochove

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: EHAM/EHBK
  • Posts: 432
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #810 on: Sun, 18 Jul 2021 07:45 »
Are you running PSX on the same or another computer?
Ton

jcomm

  • Join date: Dec 2011
  • Location: LPMT
  • Posts: 1638
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #811 on: Sun, 18 Jul 2021 08:38 »
As Ton asked, if that's the case, please change all of the addresses in the configuration file to 127.0.0.1

744

  • Steve Beckett
  • Join date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 50
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #812 on: Sun, 18 Jul 2021 10:48 »
Firstly, thank you for the reply. Always appreciated.

Yes, I'm using just the one computer. An iMac.
I've changed the file in X-View as below, but my PSX now defaults to 192.168.1.90
I'm afraid still no success.

With my apologies, if computer science was a church, I'd be at the back of the congregation. I thought all the IP addresses between PSX, X-View and X-Plane 11 should be the same? No?


HEADER = "XView Configuration File Sat Oct 18 19:20:18 2014"
SETTINGS_PATH = "D:\X-Plane 11"
BOOST_ADDRESS = "127.0.0.1 : 10749"   ; IP address
MAIN_ADDRESS  = "127.0.0.1 : 10747"   ; IP address
RELAY_ADDRESS = "127.0.0.1 : 10740"   ; IP address
RELAY_BOOST_DATA = FALSE    ; Set to true if XView relays boost data
SMOOTH_TRAJECTORY = FALSE   ; Extrapolate between PSX updates (default: FALSE)
DO_ANIMATIONS = TRUE       ; Animate external parts, eg gear, etc(default: TRUE)
DO_LIGHTS = TRUE           ; Animate lights (default: TRUE)
DO_WEATHER = TRUE          ; Set true if PSX sets X-Plane weather
DO_COMMS = TRUE            ; Set true if PSX  sets X-Plane comms
DO_TIME = TRUE             ; Set true if PSX sets X-Plane time
SIDE_VIEWS = FALSE          ; Set TRUE to allow PSX to set X-Plane view angle
USE_BOOST_SERVER = TRUE    ; Set to TRUE to use Boost server - the normal setting
PSX_TRAFFIC = 3         ; Set to the number of traffic planes you want driven by PSX (max 7)
USE_PSX_TRAFFIC = FALSE     ; Set true if PSX drives the traffic aircraft
USE_XP_TRAFFIC =  FALSE     ; Set true if XP drives the traffic aircraft
INJECT_ELEVATION = TRUE    ; Set to true to send scenery elevation to Main server
macOS BigSur V11.4

Ton van Bochove

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: EHAM/EHBK
  • Posts: 432
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #813 on: Sun, 18 Jul 2021 11:23 »
Hi,

Last week I had the same problem after buying a new W10 computer. I have PSX and XP running on the same machine and after some fiddling with the Xview config this worked for me.

HEADER = "XView Configuration File Sat Jul 17 10:14:01 2021"
SETTINGS_PATH = ""
BOOST_ADDRESS = "127.0.0.1 : 10749"   ; IP address
MAIN_ADDRESS  = "127.0.0.1 : 10747"   ; IP address
RELAY_ADDRESS = "127.0.0.1 : 10740"   ; IP address
RELAY_BOOST_DATA = FALSE    ; Set to true if XView relays boost data
SMOOTH_TRAJECTORY = FALSE   ; Extrapolate between PSX updates (default: FALSE)
DO_ANIMATIONS = TRUE       ; Animate external parts, eg gear, etc(default: TRUE)
DO_LIGHTS = TRUE           ; Animate lights (default: TRUE)
DO_WEATHER = TRUE          ; Set true if PSX sets X-Plane weather
DO_COMMS = TRUE            ; Set true if PSX  sets X-Plane comms
DO_TIME = TRUE             ; Set true if PSX sets X-Plane time
SIDE_VIEWS = TRUE          ; Set TRUE to allow PSX to set X-Plane view angle
USE_BOOST_SERVER = TRUE    ; Set to TRUE to use Boost server - the normal setting
PSX_TRAFFIC = 1         ; Set to the number of traffic planes you want driven by PSX (max 7)
USE_PSX_TRAFFIC = FALSE     ; Set true if PSX drives the traffic aircraft
USE_XP_TRAFFIC =  TRUE     ; Set true if XP drives the traffic aircraft
INJECT_ELEVATION = TRUE    ; Set to true to send scenery elevation to Main server
Ton

jcomm

  • Join date: Dec 2011
  • Location: LPMT
  • Posts: 1638
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #814 on: Sun, 18 Jul 2021 11:57 »
Yep,

Ton also suggests using the same 127.0.0.1 for all addresses since you're running it all on the same PC.

Where did you drop the plugin ?

Ton van Bochove

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: EHAM/EHBK
  • Posts: 432
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #815 on: Sun, 18 Jul 2021 12:10 »
Yep,

Ton also suggests using the same 127.0.0.1 for all addresses since you're running it all on the same PC.

Where did you drop the plugin ?

And I also left the path settings out....that is the main difference
Ton

744

  • Steve Beckett
  • Join date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 50
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #816 on: Sun, 18 Jul 2021 12:18 »
I put the plugin into:-

X-Plane 11 > Resources > PluginAdmin> 64> (Win.XPL)

Thee was already an file named Win.xpl, which I removed and replaced with the plugin. I then renamed XView64.xpl to win.xpl.


+

With X-Plane 11 Settings > Network > UDP Ports I now have a UPnP warning: No UPnP-capable gateway found. Should I uncheck the box for "USE UPnP for IPv4 port forwarding" ?
macOS BigSur V11.4

Ton van Bochove

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: EHAM/EHBK
  • Posts: 432
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #817 on: Sun, 18 Jul 2021 12:57 »
The path should be: X-Plane 11 > Resources >Plugins>Xview> 64

I am afraid you deleted/overwrote the wrong win.xpl in Pluginadmin. Both can be the cause you cannot connect to Xview/Xp. Furthermore you don't need the network connection in XP to connect to PSX. But you maybe you have enabled it for other reasons
Ton

jcomm

  • Join date: Dec 2011
  • Location: LPMT
  • Posts: 1638
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #818 on: Sun, 18 Jul 2021 14:18 »
It's been a long time since I last used xp + psx, but one of the things I did, mentioned in my previous post, was placing the plugin folder taht comes with the xview 744 inside of the aircraft plugin folder itself.

Placing the pluging in the Main plugin floder of XP11 makes it active when you load the sim, and you then have to manually disable it. If you want to use XP with other aircraft this is not good...

Ton van Bochove

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: EHAM/EHBK
  • Posts: 432
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #819 on: Sun, 18 Jul 2021 14:33 »
It's been a long time since I last used xp + psx, but one of the things I did, mentioned in my previous post, was placing the plugin folder taht comes with the xview 744 inside of the aircraft plugin folder itself.

Placing the pluging in the Main plugin floder of XP11 makes it active when you load the sim, and you then have to manually disable it. If you want to use XP with other aircraft this is not good...

I see, I only use it as scenery generator and I think the default path works best than
Ton