News:

Precision Simulator update 10.174 (26 April 2024) is now available.
Navburo update 13 (23 November 2022) is now available.
NG FMC and More is released.

Main Menu

Java & Retina Displays

Started by Steve H, Sat, 8 Feb 2014 02:45

Steve H

Wondering if anyone has read any updates about compatibility of Java and Apple retina displays.

Steve H

Scott

I'm not a developer but according to the bug tracker posted by John Golin it appears the issue may have been addressed in Java 7 update 51.

http://aerowinx.com/forum/topic.php?post=13427#post13427

John Golin

Most recent feedback in the team was that there are still issues with current releases of OSX and Java for Retina displays....

(not me, I don't have a Mac!)
John Golin.
www.simulatorsolutions.com.au

Jeroen Hoppenbrouwers

Just because I am not iAware -- what is so different about Retina displays, except that they are of a generally higher resolution? Isn't it just more pixels per inch, and why would especially Java get into trouble and not also everything else? Java does not perform direct hardware access, right? It just sits on top of the OS video drivers?

Hoppie

Hardy Heinlin

Quote from: Jeroen HoppenbrouwersJava does not perform direct hardware access, right?
Wrong! PSX and Java do access the hardware directly, otherwise you wouldn't get such high frame rates.

Direct access was introduced in Java in 1998 or so.

Retina displays require bigger icons and stuff, i.e. bigger bitmaps for the OS related GUI graphics of an application. You can't just zoom them in; that makes them unsharp. An icon or button of 50 x 50 now needs to be 100 x 100. As there are lots of graphic methods in the language, nearly every single method that includes scaling or clipping has to be specialized for Retina displays. E.g., in PSX, a semi-transparent bitmap layer on the glareshield panel is missing due to a Java/Retina problem.

Cheers,

|-|ardy

Jeroen Hoppenbrouwers

Steve H