News:

Precision Simulator update 10.173 (24 February 2024) is now available.
Navburo update 13 (23 November 2022) is now available.
NG FMC and More is released.

Main Menu

V Speeds V1,Vr,V2

Started by Daniel, Fri, 28 Jun 2019 14:49

Daniel

Dear Simulator pilots:

I have to ask again:

What do the V speed have to do with the first leg which has to be inserted in the FMS before they appear on the Takeoff Ref page as commented before?
As a real world pilot I calculate the V speeds (V1, VR, V2) by looking into the respective tables for flap condition, weather condition and I receive the required TO Distance for the specific values applied.
It has nothing to do with the first leg where I may fly to or NOT.

Kind regards
Daniel

Hardy Heinlin

Hi Daniel.

(By the way, on the forum there are sim pilots as well as real-world pilots, engineers, ATCs, dispatchers etc.)

The first leg is irrelevant to the FMC's V-speed calculation.

The first leg is only relevant to the route activation function.

The V-speed calculation needs a departure runway in the active route. This runway is also shown on the TAKEOFF REF page.

All legs may be deleted in an active route, and the V-speed calculation will still work -- as long as it contains a departure runway.

Before you activate an inactive route, the 744 FMC requires at least one leg. This activation logic has nothing to do with the V-speeds per se.

If you follow the normal 744 specific preflight steps, you will have an active route before you go to the TAKEOFF REF page, and the problem will never occur.

Regards,

|-|ardy

Daniel

Hello Hardy,

I have inserted an active runway 29 for Vienna,
however it does not calculate V speeds until at least one leg is inserted.
On the Learjet I can insert the values: mass, Flap setting, and other runway conditions and the V speeds will be calculated.
V speeds have correction values for slope, wind etc. but this is secondary.