Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

News: The latest PSX update (version 10.43 from 3 September 2018) is available at: http://aerowinx.com/board/index.php?topic=4191.0

Author Topic: RTP Failure  (Read 389 times)

Simonijs

  • Join date: Oct 2014
  • Location: Amsterdam
  • Posts: 61
RTP Failure
« on: Mon, 14 May 2018 09:19 »
Good Morning,

The other day I had RTP L & R tuned to VHF L & R (with frequencies shown in both ACTIVE and STANDBY windows), while RTP C showed PANEL (in the Active window) and FAIL (in the Standby window). I read this as: “this panel has failed”. RTP-C could not be switched off, pressing the “OFF” button.
The Central Maintenance Computer showed a VHF-C failure and suggested to reset the circuit breaker. Pulling this CB blanked the centre RTP, with          > DATALINK LOST shown on EICAS. Pushing the CB back in: > DATALINK AVAIL was subsequently shown.

I was expecting to have lost Datalink communication with this failure, but was surprised to be able to request and receive clearances, or receive ATIS messages with this failure. With the VHF-C CB pulled, I was also expecting to not be able to use VHF-C on RTP-L or R, but you can! So, the CB’s labelled VHF L/C/R only affect the operation of RTP L/C/R.

I have read the Aerowinx Manual (page 168, and 176) on this subject, and KLM’s AOM Volume I (Systems) from which I understand that I need to select VHF-C somewhere for uplinks and downlinks.

So my questions:
•   In this case, did only the panel itself fail with VHF-C still running in the background, allowing ACARS operation?
•   Would the CMC-message “VHF-C fail” then show the correct failure?
•   Would a pilot be allowed to follow up on CMC Notes (to pull and push a CB)?
•   Resetting all malfunctions on the instructor page does not clear PANEL & FAIL on the centre RTP. What specific procedure is required to get this fixed?

Kind regards,
Simon

Hardy Heinlin

  • Moderator
  • Join date: May 2009
  • Posts: 9462
    • Aerowinx
    • Email
Re: RTP Failure
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 14 May 2018 10:22 »
Hi Simon,

the RTP is just for the control. There is no radio in the RTP. Each RTP has a memory where it stores its frequency settings.

The VHF CB powers the related VHF radio (L, C, or R) and RTP (L, C, or R accordingly). The RTP has no dedicated CB.


Regards,

|-|ardy

Simonijs

  • Join date: Oct 2014
  • Location: Amsterdam
  • Posts: 61
Re: RTP Failure
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 16 May 2018 14:56 »
OK, that is understood.

Nevertheless...: the same failure did pop-up again for the right panel on yet another PSX-flight, with the same wording "PANEL" & "FAIL". The CMC, however, showed "VHF-R transceiver failed". I guess that is the radio itself, hence my question the other day (would datalink be possible with a failed transmitter/receiver?). Could it be possible that there is some discrepancy between what I see on the PSX-pedestal, and what is shown in Avi's CMC?

On the instructor's Malfunctions page, now resetting malfunctions cleared the failure (listed as a RTP-R failure) and all red font disappeared. That was not the case when I first wrote about this: all font was normal after a reset, but PANEL & FAIL could not be cleared.

Kind regards,
Simon


Hardy Heinlin

  • Moderator
  • Join date: May 2009
  • Posts: 9462
    • Aerowinx
    • Email
Re: RTP Failure
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 16 May 2018 15:27 »
I guess Avi's CMC interpretes this as a radio failure. But it's really just an RTP failure as indicated on the Instructor.

Severe malfunction is non-resettable, else it's resettable by CB cycling. Can you see the description of each malfunction?

When you use random failures this is randomized.


Regards,

|-|ardy

Simonijs

  • Join date: Oct 2014
  • Location: Amsterdam
  • Posts: 61
Re: RTP Failure
« Reply #4 on: Wed, 16 May 2018 15:55 »
Checked!

Yes, I see the malfunction description within PSX and also within CMC (I usually do connect CMC ). In CMC it is registered as a NON-FDE, under NOTES it suggest to pull the CB and then push in again. This is exactly how it should be done for a(n) RTP failure... I have the failures randomized. Sometimes it is a long sit, sometimes back within the hour  :)

Thanks, now I know.

Regards, again!
Simon



Hardy Heinlin

  • Moderator
  • Join date: May 2009
  • Posts: 9462
    • Aerowinx
    • Email
Re: RTP Failure
« Reply #5 on: Wed, 16 May 2018 16:15 »
Just rechecked Avi's CMC: It correctly says "panel failure" when "severe" has been activated, else it incorrectly says "VHF failure". In both cases it shoud say "panel failure".

In the non-severe case, the "Notes" should refer to the "RCP" (or "RTP") instead of the "transceiver".


|-|

Simonijs

  • Join date: Oct 2014
  • Location: Amsterdam
  • Posts: 61
Re: RTP Failure
« Reply #6 on: Wed, 16 May 2018 17:19 »
Tank you, Hardy !

Regards,
S.

Simonijs

  • Join date: Oct 2014
  • Location: Amsterdam
  • Posts: 61
Re: RTP Failure
« Reply #7 on: Wed, 16 May 2018 17:20 »
THank you ....

Hardy Heinlin

  • Moderator
  • Join date: May 2009
  • Posts: 9462
    • Aerowinx
    • Email
Re: RTP Failure
« Reply #8 on: Thu, 17 May 2018 06:47 »
You're welcome. By the way, on this forum, members are allowed to edit their posts :-)

Avi

  • Join date: May 2009
  • Location: LLBG
  • Posts: 702
Re: RTP Failure
« Reply #9 on: Sat, 19 May 2018 18:38 »
Ha… someone uses CMC-PSX, nice to know.

I tried to generate as many CMC fault messages as possible per PSX malfunctions. In one case, for example, for the Gear disagree malfunctions I generate for the non-severe case different PSEU fault messages even though in PSX it is a kind of a mechanical malfunctions: the gears don't move but in general I did try to fit between PSX malfunctions and the CMC fault messages.

I don't remember what I did 4 years ago about the RCP malfunctions (it could be I wanted to generate 2 different fault messages) and, apparently, there is a problem here so I will modify CMC-PSX so the same fault message (RCP fail) will be generated for both cases of these malfunctions.

Cheers,
Avi Adin
LLBG

Simonijs

  • Join date: Oct 2014
  • Location: Amsterdam
  • Posts: 61
Re: RTP Failure
« Reply #10 on: Sun, 20 May 2018 11:07 »
Hi Avi,

In another post, I saw you already updated CMC. Thanks very much: for the app itself - usually the first client to connect - and for this update!

Kind regards,
Simon