Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

News:
Precision Simulator update 10.111 (25 May 2020) is now available.
Aerowinx NG FMC and More is now released.

Author Topic: WidePSX 2.0 : Reworked for ultra smooth in-flight graphics display  (Read 26441 times)

petdocvmd

  • Join date: Apr 2012
  • Location: Pennsylvania, United States
  • Posts: 55
Regarding VATSIM integration via vPilot:  do I have to setup a PTT key in vPilot, or will the one mapped in PSX to Capt PTT suffice?  It would be nice to use the ACP natively for comms.  Is the Audio for VASTIM app required? I'm a bit confused about what's needed and what's not for PSX-to-VATSIM functionality via the ACP.

Thanks!

Scott
Scott L. Fausel, VMD

cavaricooper

  • Join date: Dec 2009
  • Location: KTPA
  • Posts: 1178
Scott-

Both PSX and vPilot use the same PTT button in my case, so I’m not sure HOW it works... I am sure THAT it works :)

HTH- C
Carl Avari-Cooper, KTPA

petdocvmd

  • Join date: Apr 2012
  • Location: Pennsylvania, United States
  • Posts: 55
Scott-

Both PSX and vPilot use the same PTT button in my case, so I’m not sure HOW it works... I am sure THAT it works :)

HTH- C

Yes, I tried that and it works.  However by doing it that way, it continues to work even if you select a different mic path on the ACP e.g. when you want to speak to ground personnel regarding pushback.  What I was hoping for was for WidePSX to connect the ACP to vPilot, so you would have to have the correct mic path selected in order to speak on ATC frequency.  With parallel PTT assignments (in PSX AND vPilot), you'd be broadcasting your conversation with the tow operator to everyone on the airport ground frequency!

Scott
Scott L. Fausel, VMD

cavaricooper

  • Join date: Dec 2009
  • Location: KTPA
  • Posts: 1178
Scott- for non ATC comm transmissions, I use the switch on the ACP itself.

C
Carl Avari-Cooper, KTPA

JP744

  • Join date: Jan 2014
  • Location: France (LFQQ)
  • Posts: 670
    • WideSimulation
Hi Scott,

I first wanted to control vPilot PTT with WidePSX, and my code is written by taking the ACP MIC selection in consideration, and also ACP volume potentiometers position. However, vPilot doesn't allow 3rd party applications (like WidePSX) to access directly to the PTT function. So WidePSX can only tune vPilot frequencies and XPNDR settings, that's why you need to connect your physical PTT to your vPilot computer directly. Carl's method is a good alternative (use the R/T ACP switch with the INT position when you want to talk to the ground staff.

Best regards,
Jean-philippe

Jeroen Hoppenbrouwers

  • Moderator
  • Join date: May 2009
  • Location: KTMB
  • Posts: 3878
  • Hoppie designs avionics equipment for airliners.
    • http://www.hoppie.nl/
In the real thing, the PTT path is switched through the ACP as you expect (multiple speaker selections at the same time are OK, but there is just exactly one MIC selection). So a semi-realistic workaround is to add a stupid relay in the PTT line to the vPilot computer that only engages when the correct ACP path is selected.


Hoppie

Gary Oliver

  • Join date: May 2012
  • Location: Farnborough, UK
  • Posts: 705
    • http://www.simfest.co.uk
Scott,

The standalone AFV client available from audio.vatsim.net supports PSX natively, you could use this instead of vpilot voice if you preferred.  Just make sure you run vpilot in remote/host mode with no voice on either instances.

There’s a post on the forum somewhere that John or Rodney wrote on how to use it.  You have to edit the config file directly to access the secret PSX community mode :)

Cheers
Gary

andrej

  • Join date: Apr 2012
  • Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
  • Posts: 318
Just to add to Gary's post.
Here is the link to yhe secret community.  ;D

http://aerowinx.com/board/index.php?topic=5419.0

Cheers,
Andrej

petdocvmd

  • Join date: Apr 2012
  • Location: Pennsylvania, United States
  • Posts: 55
Scott,

The standalone AFV client available from audio.vatsim.net supports PSX natively, you could use this instead of vpilot voice if you preferred.  Just make sure you run vpilot in remote/host mode with no voice on either instances.

There’s a post on the forum somewhere that John or Rodney wrote on how to use it.  You have to edit the config file directly to access the secret PSX community mode :)

Cheers
Gary

Thanks, Gary et. al. - I am really close!  I had the "fsuipc" box checked in AFV which overwrote the "psx" entry in the <Simulator> tag of the config file.  I corrected that and all is nearly well:

1.  I can transmit on VHF-L by holding the R/T button on the Capt's ACR panel (Tx lights up, ATC answers me).

2.  I CANNOT transmit via any other method:  "H" key does not work, mapped PTT button on yoke does not work, and PTT button on CAPT's glareshield does not work.  I verified that on "Situation->Human->Pilot" page, PNF is Right seat.  My PTT button DOES work with WidePSX's ground services module (not active for this test).

3. I cannot receive unless I press the receiver selector button for VHF-L i.e. having "mic" selected does NOT alone allow reception.

Any ideas?  Am I missing a setting in PSX? 

Thanks,

Scott
Scott L. Fausel, VMD

Gary Oliver

  • Join date: May 2012
  • Location: Farnborough, UK
  • Posts: 705
    • http://www.simfest.co.uk
Scott,

I can easily fix 2, didn’t know 3 was possible, can someone else confirm this is what we would expect in the real 744?

Cheers
G

petdocvmd

  • Join date: Apr 2012
  • Location: Pennsylvania, United States
  • Posts: 55
Gary, thanks!  Regarding #3, Check bottom left of Aerowinx Operations manual page 169 (green light icon).

Scott
Scott L. Fausel, VMD

Gary Oliver

  • Join date: May 2012
  • Location: Farnborough, UK
  • Posts: 705
    • http://www.simfest.co.uk
Perfect, 3 it is too :) gimme a week.

Cheers
Gary

petdocvmd

  • Join date: Apr 2012
  • Location: Pennsylvania, United States
  • Posts: 55
Perfect, 3 it is too :) gimme a week.

Cheers
Gary

Wait...I think it is actually ok - sort of.  I had set the following:

<psxComRadio>1</psxComRadio>

to "0."  When I changed it back to "1" it seems to work fine - at least for the Capt ACP/Com1 combo (I can't get offside tuning to work i.e. if I set Capt mic switch to VHF-R I cannot transmit or monitor those freq).  I also can't just monitor COM2 by clicking the Capt ACP VHF-R receiver button to green.  When I had "0" in that setting I was able to monitor everything, but not transmit (with PTT - only the R/T switch transmitted).  I see in the original AFV thread that Martin has also tried this, but hasn't tested transmitting yet. 

This stuff probably belongs on the AFV thread, but I don't know how to move or X-post.

Scott
Scott L. Fausel, VMD

JRBarrett

  • Join date: Feb 2010
  • Location: Elmira, NY
  • Posts: 138
I know that WidePSX is no longer in active development, but I am happy to report that it works just fine as a scenery injector for the new P3D version 5. I only needed to copy the example Simconnect.xml file from the WidePSX /util directory into the appropriate folder in P3D, and copy the WidePSX modified Posky model into simobjects/airplanes, and generate a new runways.csv file.

BTW, there is a new version of makerunways.exe at Pete Dowson’s web site that is updated to generate the necessary .csv files in P3DV5.

The scenery injection is smooth as silk - it works just the same as it did in P3DV4.

Since there is not yet a P3DV5 version of Active Sky, I can’t test whether the dynamic winds aloft injection module will work, but I assume it will once a new Active Sky is available.

Jim Barrett

JP744

  • Join date: Jan 2014
  • Location: France (LFQQ)
  • Posts: 670
    • WideSimulation
Thanks for the feedback Jim. I am happy to see it still works solid and smooth even with the latest versions of P3D. I am confident about FS 2020 also as it will allow applications to use SimConnect like with FSX/P3D.

Best regards to all the PSX community !

GerdD

  • Join date: Aug 2014
  • Location: EDDS
  • Posts: 49
Hello JP,
how can you get contacted for purchase?
Thanks

Gerd

Answer found and PM sent.
« Last edit: Fri, 22 May 2020 21:07 by GerdD »

SIMU-3G7

  • Join date: Apr 2013
  • Location: CYQB
  • Posts: 26
Hello all PSX simmers

WidePsx is working better with P3DV5 than P3DV4.5. Strange isn't it, i was very surprised even with ASP3D.

Enjoy :)

Gilles-Gabriel 8)
Up There With The Best Of The Best...