Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

News: The latest PSX update (version 10.54 from 7 November 2018) is available at: http://aerowinx.com/board/index.php?topic=4191.0

Author Topic: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim  (Read 70139 times)

Mark

  • Join date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 346
    • Email
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #40 on: Sat, 18 Jun 2016 23:26 »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lwAcWFHkO8k

Great video! It's good to see another multi-projector setup working nicely.

Ivo de Colfmaker

  • Join date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Antwerp
  • Posts: 375
    • Email
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #41 on: Sat, 18 Jun 2016 23:29 »
great video indeed; this looks awsome.
not much sleep tonight,
ivo
A day at this forum is a day learned!

evaamo

  • Join date: Jan 2010
  • Location: MMMX
  • Posts: 214
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #42 on: Sat, 18 Jun 2016 23:51 »
Hey guys, if any of you is using the POSKY model (from the Megapack posted above), I found these values for the eyepoint to work pretty well:

eyepoint=64.8, -2.0, 10.9

Zoom .50

cheers
-E

Enrique Vaamonde

joergalv

  • Join date: Sep 2014
  • Posts: 53
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #43 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 02:39 »
Hi Mark,

great job! Fantastic Add-On.. 

Though i had the same problems like Ivo and Nico, but finaly got it working in a 2 PC setup.
No Network or Firewall issue. Seems the PC hosting PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim.Router.exe is required to be localized to English (Great Britian). At least the Format section of the Contorl Panel -> Region.

Maybe something you could look into?

@Ivo, Nico, you might want to check your localization and report back?

Best regards, and thanks a lot for this great Add-On!

Joerg

evaamo

  • Join date: Jan 2010
  • Location: MMMX
  • Posts: 214
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #44 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 04:22 »
Hi Mark, I might have found a bug. For some reason, there's a time sync issue going on (which I only noted when it was time to fly a leg at night and P3D would be stuck in daylight).

As you can see, ExternalSim detects UTC time correctly from PSX but somehow fails to inject it correctly into P3D. Trying to modify the date/time directly in P3D (or checking the "GMT" box) doesn't work as the settings are quickly overridden by (I suppose!) ExternalSim.

Screenshot:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/21613445/PSXNET2.jpg

Cheers
-E
Enrique Vaamonde

kiek

  • Join date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Delft, The Netherlands
  • Posts: 591
    • http://www.lekseecon.nl/psxseecon.html
    • Email
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #45 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 09:29 »
@Ivo, Nico, you might want to check your localization and report back?
I've changed the Time&Number formats at my BOTH computers to English(United Kingdom), and then the "Middle of the Ocean"problem indeed disappeared. However, I kept a reload every 3 seconds. I could get rid of that by also setting % road vehicles,% ships&ferries and %leisure boats to 0%!(AI aircraft were already at 0%).

@Mark:
The smoothness is awesome, thx again.

I hope/assume you will make your program work all over the world. I cannot let my format settings stay at English. It will give me al sorts of problems with decimal points and so on in other programs I use. There are 'locale' solutions for that in programming languages.

Nico

Ivo de Colfmaker

  • Join date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Antwerp
  • Posts: 375
    • Email
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #46 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 09:44 »
Hi Mark,
Thanks again to make this available to us.
i can not try the solution Joerg gave us untill maybe this evening.
i do know that in the beginning   the  same problem  occured with PSX bacars.
Ivo
A day at this forum is a day learned!

Gary Oliver

  • Join date: May 2012
  • Location: Farnborough, UK
  • Posts: 566
    • http://www.simfest.co.uk
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #47 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 10:00 »
Ah yes the  , vs . debate :-)

I managed to force the locale in a one liner in BACARS.  I'll pass on to Mark.

Cheers
G

SIMU-3G7

  • Join date: Apr 2013
  • Location: CYQB
  • Posts: 19
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #48 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 10:15 »
Congratulations Mark! This is a wonderful addon for our community.

Best regards and take care.

Gilles-Gabriel
Up There With The Best Of The Best...

GodAtum

  • Join date: Jun 2014
  • Posts: 532
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #49 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 15:31 »
Ivo, I use the POSKY 744 Megapack that was mentioned in another thread:

Pack #5:  http://www.rikoooo.com/en/downloads/viewdownload/55/716
Pack #6: http://www.rikoooo.com/en/downloads/viewdownload/55/717

Cheers
-E

Do you lights work with POSKY?

Ivo de Colfmaker

  • Join date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Antwerp
  • Posts: 375
    • Email
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #50 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 18:39 »


Hi,
I set on both pc's location English (Great Britain)    still no luck.
decimal is point
So gonna give my settings in case I do something wrong.
Sorry for this long boring post.
PSX  pc nr1  ip = local network 192.168.0.152
P3D pc nr2   ip= 192.168.0.151

 PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim.Managed.dll  and
PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim.Managed.Wrapper.dll  moved to P3D directory (F:\ preparV3)

 PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim.dll  moved to F:\ preparV3\SimObjects\Airplanes\ b747_400
excerpt of aircraft.cfg file

[fltsim.0]
title=Boeing 747-400 Paint1
ExternalSimID = {3E6B47E7-C706-4A10-BC88-6E7C199ED5A6}
ExternalSimData = 75, 75, 100
ExternalSimModule = PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim.dll

sim=Boeing747-400
model=
panel=
sound=
texture=1
kb_checklists=Boeing747-400_check
kb_reference=Boeing747-400_ref
atc_id=N747K
atc_airline=Boeing
atc_flight_number=1123
atc_heavy=1
ui_manufacturer="Boeing"
ui_type="747-400"
ui_variation="Boeing livery"
ui_typerole="Commercial Airliner"
ui_createdby="Microsoft Corporation"
description="More than 30 years ago, the 747 made its first trip from New York to London.  Since then, it's become the standard by which other large passenger jets are judged. Its size, range, speed and capacity were then, and are now, the best in its class."

[General]
atc_type=BOEING
atc_model=B744
editable=0
performance="Cruise Speed\n0.85 Mach         565 mph         910 km\/h\n\nEngine options\nPratt & Whitney PW4062\nRolls-Royce RB211-524H\nGeneral Electric CF6-80C2B5F\n\nMaximum Range\n7,325 nm         13,570 km\n\nMaximum Certified Operating Altitude              45,100 ft          13,747 m\n\nFuel Capacity\n57,285 gal       216,840 L\n\nBasic Empty Weight\n394,088 lb    178,755 kg\n\nMax Gross Weight                        875,000 lb       396,893 kg\n\nLength\n231 ft, 10 in       70.6 m\n\nWingspan\n211 ft, 5 in         64.4 m\n\nHeight\n63 ft, 8 in         19.4 m\n\nSeating Typical 3-class configuration - 416\nTypical 2-class configuration - 524"
Category = externalsim


 PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim.xml  moved to C:\users\Public\Public Documents on P3D pc
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<Settings xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema">
  <RouterSubBind>tcp://192.168.0.152:10760</RouterSubBind>
  <FeedbackPubBind>tcp://*:10761</FeedbackPubBind>
  <DebugPubBind>tcp://*:10762</DebugPubBind>
  <DebugLogToFile>false</DebugLogToFile>
</Settings>

PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim.Router.xml moved to C:\users\Public\Public Documents on PSX pc

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<Settings xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema">
  <PsxBoostIP>127.0.0.1</PsxBoostIP>
  <PsxServerIP>127.0.0.1</PsxServerIP>
  <PsxServerPort>10747</PsxServerPort>
  <RouterPubBind>tcp://*:10760</RouterPubBind>
  <FeedbackSubBind>tcp://192.168.0.151:10761</FeedbackSubBind>
</Settings>
ivo








A day at this forum is a day learned!

Britjet

  • Join date: Aug 2014
  • Location: Camberley, UK
  • Posts: 1250
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #51 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 18:49 »
My setup looks identical to Ivo - PSX connects to the server but not to the P3D PC..

Edit... I tried moving the Router xml to the P3D PC public folder ( the instructions imply the PSX PC Public folder?) and it now works... :-)

Peter

kiek

  • Join date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Delft, The Netherlands
  • Posts: 591
    • http://www.lekseecon.nl/psxseecon.html
    • Email
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #52 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 19:05 »
Hi Ivo,
I set on both pc's location English (Great Britain)    still no luck.
decimal is point
Are you sure you have set the Format?
You should not change your location. You can keep Belgium as country, region, but in the Additional Settings in the same entry, you should change Time&Number format to English/United Kingdom.

Nico

Ivo de Colfmaker

  • Join date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Antwerp
  • Posts: 375
    • Email
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #53 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 19:38 »
hi Nico, yes, on both pc's
ivo
A day at this forum is a day learned!

Ivo de Colfmaker

  • Join date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Antwerp
  • Posts: 375
    • Email
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #54 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 19:48 »
Hi Peter,
tried it, but again no luck, and when running the external.Simrouter.exe,  the External.SimRouter.xml is automaticlaly
placed in the  Users\public\public Documents map . on the PSX pc.
do you mean you have both
 PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim.xml
PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim.Router.xml files in the P3D users\Public\public Documents map?
ivo
A day at this forum is a day learned!

Mark

  • Join date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 346
    • Email
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #55 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 19:53 »
Peter

Sorry to say it was a fluke that moving the XML file to the other PC made it work. As Ivo has noticed, the DLLs will automatically create the XML files if it can't find one.

Ivo

If you're running out of things to try, may I suggest you wait for the next version? I will hopefully have the localisation fix, and a better connection status indicator (in both directions).

Ivo de Colfmaker

  • Join date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Antwerp
  • Posts: 375
    • Email
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #56 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 20:07 »
Hi Mark,
No problem at all to wait for the next version.
But it's the sport to make it work , giving up is not an option.
Ivo
A day at this forum is a day learned!

Zapp

  • Join date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 107
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #57 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 21:32 »
Hi all, I have both P3D and PSX on the same Win7 Ultimate computer, language is Italian, localization Italy, everything is working fine here.

Just one question: are lights supposed to work on Posky 747?

Great idea and great addon anyway, possibly the future of our hobby when it comes to accurate simulations; I'm looking forward to next version!

Andrea

Mark

  • Join date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 346
    • Email
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #58 on: Sun, 19 Jun 2016 23:30 »
PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim 1.7.0 now released. See post 1 of this thread for download link.

Change log:
- Potential fix for localisation
- Added ability to turn off TimeSync in PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim.Router.xml to allow AI traffic to work
- Simplified deployment from 3 DLLs to 1 DLL
- Connection status now shown on Router

Note 1: The AI traffic problem still needs more work as I'd like to leave time sync enabled and not affect AI traffic.
(For future reference, the AI traffic problem manifests itself by P3D very briefly showing a loading dialog every 3-5 seconds)

Note 2: The PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim.Router.xml file has an additional setting so use the new file or edit your existing one to add the new setting in. An example file is included in the download.

evaamo

  • Join date: Jan 2010
  • Location: MMMX
  • Posts: 214
Re: PSX.NET P3D ExternalSim
« Reply #59 on: Mon, 20 Jun 2016 02:48 »
Posky lights mostly work in VisualPSX, but no such luck using ExternalSim.

This, I'm sure requires some Simconnect sorcery (which I'm certain is more or less the same when it comes to Flaps and Gear). Perhaps Mark will include exterior lights control in the future.

-E
Enrique Vaamonde