Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

News: Precision Simulator update 10.92 (26 October 2019) is now available

Author Topic: PSX BACARS - V4.0.9  (Read 63828 times)

Jeroen Hoppenbrouwers

  • Moderator
  • Join date: May 2009
  • Location: KTMB
  • Posts: 3638
  • Hoppie designs avionics equipment for airliners.
    • http://www.hoppie.nl/
Re: PSX BACARS - V4.0.9
« Reply #300 on: Thu, 23 May 2019 23:37 »
I know the effect. Some of my browsers convinced themselves that flat text files should be saved immediately instead of either display in the browser or open in a text editor. You can fumble this setting back in Windows, somewhere. It changes occasionally. Especially at night.


Hoppie

torrence

  • Join date: May 2009
  • Location: Altadena
  • Posts: 459
Re: PSX BACARS - V4.0.9
« Reply #301 on: Fri, 24 May 2019 01:06 »
Thanks - I suspected something like that might be going on.  Not worth a lot of digging - for this purpose I'm just adding a note in my BACARS flows to go to Downloads and print and/or move the OPF pdf to whatever folder I'm using for my flightbag on that flight.  Not sure the text-only thing is only culprit though - the OPF contains all the route and weather maps etc., while the Loadsheet which is just text pops up on the screen as usual when button is pushed.  Windows is a likely co-conspirator - so many things get 'improved' and changed in the background with daily updates now.  But I guess I really don't want to go back to buying a new set of floppies every yearly update cycle  :)

Cheers,
Torrence
Cheers
Torrence

Markus Vitzethum

  • Join date: May 2009
  • Location: Reutlingen, Germany (near EDDS)
  • Posts: 351
Re: PSX BACARS - V4.0.9
« Reply #302 on: Mon, 7 Oct 2019 21:59 »
Hi Gary,

just continue here from your suggestion in the Audio for Vatsim thread...

> Using simfest dispatch should simplify things alot for you if you wanted to go
> that route (happy to make changes for this to be viable for you if needed).

Done for the last three flights and happy with it. But a few observations I made:


- Decimal seperator: looks the "arrival fuel" is calculated with the decimal seperator as by Windows default settings. That would be a comma and not a decimal point on my German language Windows. E.g. arrival fuel is shown as "13,1" in the PSX CDU. But this value is also uploaded to CLOUDCAR and seems to break a few things server-side. (e.g. average fuel for this flight).

Moving PSXBACARS to my windows computer using imperial units fixed this issue.

- Hoppie ATC message. PSBACARS seems to use the ATC callsign for progress ads-c messages. Good. But my flight still generates messages using a second callsign, either BAWxxxx or SExxxx callsign (BAW with the BA short airline code, SE with Stevens airline code) for e.g. telex message or status messages.
I wonder what needs to be done to get only messages with always the same callsign?

- ATC messages are always being sent to BAW. Is this fixed or user configurable?
  Is the final pirep send to CLOUDCARS with the Hoppie ATC system or directly to the server? If the former is true, than I understand why it's a fixed address.

Cheers,
  Markus



Gary Oliver

  • Join date: May 2012
  • Location: Farnborough, UK
  • Posts: 658
    • http://www.simfest.co.uk
Re: PSX BACARS - V4.0.9
« Reply #303 on: Tue, 8 Oct 2019 14:11 »
Markus,

BACARS is specifically not touching the CPDLC part of the world as Chris Collins had made a start on this a few years ago.

I will catch up with him after the Audio For VATSIM launch and see where his roadmap is, if hes not got it on his radar I might make a start.

Cheers
G

mokeiko

  • Join date: Aug 2010
  • Location: PHNL
  • Posts: 23
Re: PSX BACARS - V4.0.9
« Reply #304 on: Tue, 8 Oct 2019 22:20 »
I am unable to logon, my PC anti-virus software is saying it is a threat and blocking the connection and closing the BACARS app. I've disabled the anti-virus firewall as well as the windows10 firewall and still get the same message. I've never had any problems before.

can someone show me how to make the connection and what to do with the anti-virus software so I can make the connection to Hoppie network?

thanks in advance

Temp. fix: disable anti-virus software
« Last edit: Wed, 9 Oct 2019 00:08 by mokeiko »
Francisco Blas

Jeroen Hoppenbrouwers

  • Moderator
  • Join date: May 2009
  • Location: KTMB
  • Posts: 3638
  • Hoppie designs avionics equipment for airliners.
    • http://www.hoppie.nl/
Re: PSX BACARS - V4.0.9
« Reply #305 on: Tue, 8 Oct 2019 22:53 »
Markus,

BACARS is specifically not touching the CPDLC part of the world as Chris Collins had made a start on this a few years ago.

I will catch up with him after the Audio For VATSIM launch and see where his roadmap is, if hes not got it on his radar I might make a start.

Cheers
G

It's not rocket science. I simplified the tech as much as I could, 10+ years ago, and you probably can hack it up in a day. The hardest part is the log administration. See the 2005 AD   :-)


Hoppie

mokeiko

  • Join date: Aug 2010
  • Location: PHNL
  • Posts: 23
Re: PSX BACARS - V4.0.9
« Reply #306 on: Thu, 17 Oct 2019 06:21 »
Hi everyone,

I signed with simfest dispatch, created a flight plan (actually many) but have issues with zero fuel weight and fuel. For example the created load sheet will say ZFW of 472,000 lbs. and fuel of 137,000 lbs. But when I use acars (input my flight number) the weight come out way different than planned like ZFW of 550,000 lbs. and fuel of 73,000 lbs.

It doesn't matter how many times I try the ZFW always comes out way heavy like almost maxed out and does not match the created loadsheet. Also, the tutorial  video shows the Center cdu as:

acars

bacars

I do not see bacars, just acars. Perhaps that may be the issue? I have the latest version on PSX and bacars.

thank you for any help

« Last edit: Thu, 17 Oct 2019 07:41 by mokeiko »
Francisco Blas

Gary Oliver

  • Join date: May 2012
  • Location: Farnborough, UK
  • Posts: 658
    • http://www.simfest.co.uk
Re: PSX BACARS - V4.0.9
« Reply #307 on: Fri, 18 Oct 2019 13:38 »
Can you confirm that you have LBS set in the BACARS config file?

I must admit I don't remember doing a test of the fuel loading with PSX in LBS mode?

We use KGS, will see if i can get round to fixing this at some point after Audio For VATSIM work is finished, and world flight :-)

Cheers
G

mokeiko

  • Join date: Aug 2010
  • Location: PHNL
  • Posts: 23
Re: PSX BACARS - V4.0.9
« Reply #308 on: Sat, 19 Oct 2019 05:13 »
Hi Gary,

Unfortunately the LB settings do not work. I changed it back to KG loaded up a BAW livery to see if the ZFW and fuel would work. The ZFW was spot on but the fuel was almost half of what was shown on the loadsheet. I can manually adjust it for the time being. Thanks for looking in to it when you can.

fly safe
Francisco Blas

Gary Oliver

  • Join date: May 2012
  • Location: Farnborough, UK
  • Posts: 658
    • http://www.simfest.co.uk
Re: PSX BACARS - V4.0.9
« Reply #309 on: Sat, 19 Oct 2019 09:48 »
I assume you hit Ready To Board to make it show a Y in the box?  This gets the pre fueling started.

mokeiko

  • Join date: Aug 2010
  • Location: PHNL
  • Posts: 23
Re: PSX BACARS - V4.0.9
« Reply #310 on: Sat, 19 Oct 2019 12:12 »
It was the Y in the box that did it. I will use KG for now, thank you again for your help

fly safe
Francisco Blas