Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

News: The latest PSX update (version 10.49 from 15 October 2018) is available at: http://aerowinx.com/board/index.php?topic=4191.0

Author Topic: PSX + X-Plane for scenery  (Read 172292 times)

Felix.

  • Join date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 126
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #580 on: Tue, 20 Feb 2018 10:24 »
is there any way to display your lat/long position in x-plane to show 6 digits? That way you could enable xview after pushback.

Mark

  • Join date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 345
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #581 on: Tue, 20 Feb 2018 10:42 »
I now have PSX + XP11 working extremely well across networked PCs.

Some videos: https://www.twitch.tv/hammerstan

Looking at the videos; the bottom corners of the visuals are really jerky. Is this a twitch transcode issue or is the source like this?

To my knowledge, ExternalSim is the only scenery bridge that directly solves this jerkiness - it's not enough to simply take the PSX boost output and hard-inject position updates as there is a synchronization boundary to overcome between the PSX frame rate and the scenery generator frame rate.

GodAtum

  • Join date: Jun 2014
  • Posts: 520
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #582 on: Tue, 20 Feb 2018 18:40 »
PS.NET works regardless of simulator, I'm using it in Xplane 11.

Hammerstan

  • Join date: Mar 2017
  • Location: Melbourne
  • Posts: 27
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #583 on: Wed, 21 Feb 2018 09:38 »

Looking at the videos; the bottom corners of the visuals are really jerky. Is this a twitch transcode issue or is the source like this?

I suspect it is twitch given my bandwidth settings.  The altitude tape on ascent / descent also has jerkiness. Live it is silky smooth, or at least I don't detect any jerkiness, unless frames drop in high density airports.  I have the PSX boost server on the same PC as XP11.
« Last edit: Wed, 21 Feb 2018 10:29 by Hammerstan »

Hammerstan

  • Join date: Mar 2017
  • Location: Melbourne
  • Posts: 27
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #584 on: Wed, 21 Feb 2018 09:40 »
PS.NET works regardless of simulator, I'm using it in Xplane 11.

Thanks, I didn't appreciate this. 
« Last edit: Thu, 22 Feb 2018 10:05 by Hammerstan »

Felix.

  • Join date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 126
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #585 on: Wed, 21 Feb 2018 09:46 »
I don't find xview to be as smooth as silk. It's not bad but it's not silk.

JohnH

  • Join date: May 2014
  • Posts: 86
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #586 on: Wed, 21 Feb 2018 14:34 »
PS.NET works regardless of simulator, I'm using it in Xplane 11.

Are you referring to PSX.NET or PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim?

I can't see how ExternalSim would work in XP11 as the install makes changes to the aircraft.cfg file and also adds files to the Documents\Prepar3D v4 Add-ons folder and the AppData folder which XP11 does not have?

John

GodAtum

  • Join date: Jun 2014
  • Posts: 520
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #587 on: Wed, 21 Feb 2018 17:28 »
PSX.NET which I think has the pushback feature in the centre CDU.

Hammerstan

  • Join date: Mar 2017
  • Location: Melbourne
  • Posts: 27
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #588 on: Sat, 24 Feb 2018 03:15 »
PSX.NET which I think has the pushback feature in the centre CDU.

To be clear are you referring to the pushback feature of PSX.NET which I now understand is a standalone software bridge to PSX which has a pushback interface, or BACARS?  If BACARS where is the pushback menu in the centre CDU?

Really great add-ons Gary and co have developed, but I'm on the start of the learning curve right now as I migrate my sim from P3D/Project Magenta to PSX/XP11.

Martinis

  • Join date: Jan 2018
  • Posts: 1
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #589 on: Wed, 7 Mar 2018 20:10 »
Hi all, especially Mike and Matthias (see quotes),

I figured out how PilotEdge might work with the PE_groundspeed.txt and I am looking for the mentioned version of XView with dataref of the ground speed. Can anyone of you provide me this version of the XView win.xpl?

Else, more located probably at the developer forum, anyone has an idea how I can build my own plugin at x-plane to provide a dataref for the ground speed in order to get Pilot Edge running?

Else I should probably buy Prepare3d, which I never wanted to  :), because it seems to work with it.

Thanks and always happy landings
Martin

Keith from PE was kind enough to follow my request and the current Pilotedge-Client has the ability to read the groundpseed from a custom dataref. In order to make this work, you need to place a "PE_groundspeed.txt" file in the root folder of the aircraft that you are using with XView.

I don't have time at hte moment to check out the details, but I'm sure it's just a matter of providing the name of the custom dataref. I also guess that the DR should provide the GS in the same format as X-Plane itself.


Mike, does XView already have a DR for the GS available or else could you sneak that in a future update? Thank you!


Hi Matthias,

I have a version of XView that has a groundspeed dr.  It is xview/groundspeed.  I can email the win.xpl if you like.

Mike

Kurt

  • Join date: May 2009
  • Location: Denmark
  • Posts: 179
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #590 on: Sun, 11 Mar 2018 22:02 »
Wooow!!

Just got a new PC (I7-8700K @ 5GHZ with all the good stuff in) and had to try X-View with X-Plane 11.

Runs the scenery just as smooth as X-Plane stand alone on my rig with PSX boost server on the same machine (PSX locked at 72hz with NO purple bar at all showing up) X-Plane set to max detail with 4xSSAA Anti-aliasing..

BIG thank you for developing this add-on.

C
Best regards
Kurt

hunijjang

  • Join date: Jul 2016
  • Location: Seoul, South Korea
  • Posts: 72
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #591 on: Tue, 27 Mar 2018 04:05 »
Wooow!!

Just got a new PC (I7-8700K @ 5GHZ with all the good stuff in) and had to try X-View with X-Plane 11.

Runs the scenery just as smooth as X-Plane stand alone on my rig with PSX boost server on the same machine (PSX locked at 72hz with NO purple bar at all showing up) X-Plane set to max detail with 4xSSAA Anti-aliasing..

BIG thank you for developing this add-on.

C


Hello Kurt!

What type you using to the GPU? 1080TI?

Could you tell me your PC specs?  :)

Thanks

Best Regards,

Younghoon

Toga

  • Join date: Oct 2017
  • Posts: 64
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #592 on: Sun, 15 Apr 2018 14:39 »
Has anyone figured out how to get PSX to display GS in xplane yet?

Captain_Crow

  • Join date: Aug 2017
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Posts: 37
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #593 on: Mon, 7 May 2018 19:13 »
Hi,
PSX plane seems not to work in X-Plane 11.20, X-plane crashes here on my system.
Any ideas?
Thanks in advance...

Steffen

-->0:08:24.680 D/STM: Transitioning from state state_Normal to state_NormalLoading
G64: 504.588: Calling OnAircraftUnload:(Aircraft/Laminar Research/Cessna 172SP/)
0:08:24.680 I/ACF: Loading airplane number 0 with Aircraft/PSX Plane/747-400 United.acf
G64: 505.406:  Aircraft File: (Aircraft/PSX Plane/747-400 United.acf)
G64: 505.433:       MD5 Hash: (3634f4d63c5a7e0f43377f21baf01537)
G64: 505.433:    Description: (The biggest airliner flying: The mighty 747. This craft was initially designed as a freighter! Not airliner!)
G64: 505.433:         Author: (Mohammad Gazzawi / Sergio Santagada / Javier Rollon Jrollon Planes (www.Jrollon.com) v.1.1)
G64: 505.433: Plugin Mode: Community Edition
G64: 505.441: Boot Count: 3
G64: 505.980: Run: OnKickStart..
Fetching plugins for D:\X-Plane 11/Aircraft/PSX Plane/plugins

Warning: D:\X-Plane 11/Aircraft/PSX Plane/plugins/XView/64/win.xpl Signature: XView Michael Bradbury. (A version of this plugin is already loaded.) <---

Captain_Crow

  • Join date: Aug 2017
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Posts: 37
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #594 on: Tue, 8 May 2018 06:57 »
Ha, found two xview installations on my system. One in the general plugin folder and one in the plugin folder of PSX Plane. Deleted the one in the general folder and it seems to work now...

Best
Steffen

Swiso

  • Join date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 77
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #595 on: Tue, 12 Jun 2018 14:14 »
I had PSX and XPlane 11 working very well and without problems for quite some time now..
A couple of days ago I flew from LSZH to KSFO...it took me a couple of days to complete the flight (when  I had to go to work, I put PSX on pause).
All went well, except the fact that when I came back from work and exited "pause", I saw in X Plane ( I was in external view and behind the 744) that the plane continued its flight in a nose down attitude....almost vertical nose down, but moving forward.
I noticed that if I put XPlane in pause, the plane would straight back in the correct attitude, so I opted to continue the flight this way...I managed to land correctly in KSFO.

Next time I started PSX and XPlane, it looked like PSX and XPlane are not in sync in regard to the position coords.
At almost any airport/gate, the plane is always in a wrong spot....most of the times inside the gate building...

Anybody has an idea as to why or what cause this problem ?

The only "change" I made between the two flights was updating X-Plane 11 HD Mesh Scenery v3 to version 4.
I reverted back to version 3 but the problem remain, so I dont think its related to this addon.

Zapp

  • Join date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 106
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #596 on: Tue, 26 Jun 2018 21:55 »
Exactly the same problem here: it seems the plugin is unable to feed the correct values for aircraft orientation now, probably something has been changed in X-Plane. Too bad.

Andrea

Jack love 744ERF

  • Join date: Aug 2015
  • Location: ZGGG
  • Posts: 71
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #597 on: Wed, 27 Jun 2018 16:40 »
Same same. It happen if we use the PSX747 model.  But I found that the problem solved if we use the default XP 11 747 model.   I know so that  we can't see the landing lights on the runway anymore.  But at least we can fly normally.

Swiso

  • Join date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 77
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #598 on: Wed, 27 Jun 2018 17:19 »
Same same. It happen if we use the PSX747 model.  But I found that the problem solved if we use the default XP 11 747 model.   I know so that  we can't see the landing lights on the runway anymore.  But at least we can fly normally.

Hey, thank you for this solution !
Good to know !

GodAtum

  • Join date: Jun 2014
  • Posts: 520
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #599 on: Sun, 1 Jul 2018 11:07 »
Same same. It happen if we use the PSX747 model.  But I found that the problem solved if we use the default XP 11 747 model.   I know so that  we can't see the landing lights on the runway anymore.  But at least we can fly normally.

I am using this model with the latest XP11 and works brilliantly https://www.dropbox.com/sh/a0vsfrs8oo95qtn/AAC_kWeIBa7MQ0dUuH5pIHFla?dl=0