Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

News: The latest PSX update (version 10.30 from 10 April 2018) is available at: http://aerowinx.com/board/index.php?topic=4191.0

Author Topic: PSX + X-Plane for scenery  (Read 158510 times)

Felix.

  • Join date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 125
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #580 on: Tue, 20 Feb 2018 10:24 »
is there any way to display your lat/long position in x-plane to show 6 digits? That way you could enable xview after pushback.

Mark

  • Join date: Nov 2014
  • Posts: 340
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #581 on: Tue, 20 Feb 2018 10:42 »
I now have PSX + XP11 working extremely well across networked PCs.

Some videos: https://www.twitch.tv/hammerstan

Looking at the videos; the bottom corners of the visuals are really jerky. Is this a twitch transcode issue or is the source like this?

To my knowledge, ExternalSim is the only scenery bridge that directly solves this jerkiness - it's not enough to simply take the PSX boost output and hard-inject position updates as there is a synchronization boundary to overcome between the PSX frame rate and the scenery generator frame rate.

GodAtum

  • Join date: Jun 2014
  • Posts: 490
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #582 on: Tue, 20 Feb 2018 18:40 »
PS.NET works regardless of simulator, I'm using it in Xplane 11.

Hammerstan

  • Join date: Mar 2017
  • Location: Melbourne
  • Posts: 21
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #583 on: Wed, 21 Feb 2018 09:38 »

Looking at the videos; the bottom corners of the visuals are really jerky. Is this a twitch transcode issue or is the source like this?

I suspect it is twitch given my bandwidth settings.  The altitude tape on ascent / descent also has jerkiness. Live it is silky smooth, or at least I don't detect any jerkiness, unless frames drop in high density airports.  I have the PSX boost server on the same PC as XP11.
« Last edit: Wed, 21 Feb 2018 10:29 by Hammerstan »

Hammerstan

  • Join date: Mar 2017
  • Location: Melbourne
  • Posts: 21
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #584 on: Wed, 21 Feb 2018 09:40 »
PS.NET works regardless of simulator, I'm using it in Xplane 11.

Thanks, I didn't appreciate this. 
« Last edit: Thu, 22 Feb 2018 10:05 by Hammerstan »

Felix.

  • Join date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 125
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #585 on: Wed, 21 Feb 2018 09:46 »
I don't find xview to be as smooth as silk. It's not bad but it's not silk.

JohnH

  • Join date: May 2014
  • Posts: 82
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #586 on: Wed, 21 Feb 2018 14:34 »
PS.NET works regardless of simulator, I'm using it in Xplane 11.

Are you referring to PSX.NET or PSX.NET.P3D.ExternalSim?

I can't see how ExternalSim would work in XP11 as the install makes changes to the aircraft.cfg file and also adds files to the Documents\Prepar3D v4 Add-ons folder and the AppData folder which XP11 does not have?

John

GodAtum

  • Join date: Jun 2014
  • Posts: 490
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #587 on: Wed, 21 Feb 2018 17:28 »
PSX.NET which I think has the pushback feature in the centre CDU.

Hammerstan

  • Join date: Mar 2017
  • Location: Melbourne
  • Posts: 21
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #588 on: Sat, 24 Feb 2018 03:15 »
PSX.NET which I think has the pushback feature in the centre CDU.

To be clear are you referring to the pushback feature of PSX.NET which I now understand is a standalone software bridge to PSX which has a pushback interface, or BACARS?  If BACARS where is the pushback menu in the centre CDU?

Really great add-ons Gary and co have developed, but I'm on the start of the learning curve right now as I migrate my sim from P3D/Project Magenta to PSX/XP11.

Martinis

  • Join date: Jan 2018
  • Posts: 1
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #589 on: Wed, 7 Mar 2018 20:10 »
Hi all, especially Mike and Matthias (see quotes),

I figured out how PilotEdge might work with the PE_groundspeed.txt and I am looking for the mentioned version of XView with dataref of the ground speed. Can anyone of you provide me this version of the XView win.xpl?

Else, more located probably at the developer forum, anyone has an idea how I can build my own plugin at x-plane to provide a dataref for the ground speed in order to get Pilot Edge running?

Else I should probably buy Prepare3d, which I never wanted to  :), because it seems to work with it.

Thanks and always happy landings
Martin

Keith from PE was kind enough to follow my request and the current Pilotedge-Client has the ability to read the groundpseed from a custom dataref. In order to make this work, you need to place a "PE_groundspeed.txt" file in the root folder of the aircraft that you are using with XView.

I don't have time at hte moment to check out the details, but I'm sure it's just a matter of providing the name of the custom dataref. I also guess that the DR should provide the GS in the same format as X-Plane itself.


Mike, does XView already have a DR for the GS available or else could you sneak that in a future update? Thank you!


Hi Matthias,

I have a version of XView that has a groundspeed dr.  It is xview/groundspeed.  I can email the win.xpl if you like.

Mike

Kurt

  • Join date: May 2009
  • Location: Denmark
  • Posts: 179
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #590 on: Sun, 11 Mar 2018 22:02 »
Wooow!!

Just got a new PC (I7-8700K @ 5GHZ with all the good stuff in) and had to try X-View with X-Plane 11.

Runs the scenery just as smooth as X-Plane stand alone on my rig with PSX boost server on the same machine (PSX locked at 72hz with NO purple bar at all showing up) X-Plane set to max detail with 4xSSAA Anti-aliasing..

BIG thank you for developing this add-on.

C
Best regards
Kurt

hunijjang

  • Join date: Jul 2016
  • Location: Seoul, South Korea
  • Posts: 72
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #591 on: Tue, 27 Mar 2018 04:05 »
Wooow!!

Just got a new PC (I7-8700K @ 5GHZ with all the good stuff in) and had to try X-View with X-Plane 11.

Runs the scenery just as smooth as X-Plane stand alone on my rig with PSX boost server on the same machine (PSX locked at 72hz with NO purple bar at all showing up) X-Plane set to max detail with 4xSSAA Anti-aliasing..

BIG thank you for developing this add-on.

C


Hello Kurt!

What type you using to the GPU? 1080TI?

Could you tell me your PC specs?  :)

Thanks

Best Regards,

Younghoon

Toga

  • Join date: Oct 2017
  • Posts: 45
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #592 on: Sun, 15 Apr 2018 14:39 »
Has anyone figured out how to get PSX to display GS in xplane yet?