Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

News: The latest PSX update (version 10.35 from 26 May 2018) is available at: http://aerowinx.com/board/index.php?topic=4191.0

Author Topic: PSX + X-Plane for scenery  (Read 166013 times)

JohnH

  • Join date: May 2014
  • Posts: 82
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #560 on: Sat, 9 Dec 2017 17:30 »
hiding under "Downloads" on your website.

Best regards
Dennis

glad you got it working, however it's not my website it belongs to Mike aka MikeinDevon

John

Swiso

  • Join date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 71
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #561 on: Mon, 8 Jan 2018 15:53 »

cavaricooper

  • Join date: Dec 2009
  • Location: KTPA
  • Posts: 976
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #562 on: Mon, 8 Jan 2018 20:13 »
I currently use a similar display for my forward view... works like a treat... using Prepar3D... but ought to be very similar with XPL.



The overhead and MIP/Pedestal are on other monitors to my right.

HTH- C
Carl Avari-Cooper, KTPA

Swiso

  • Join date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 71
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #563 on: Mon, 8 Jan 2018 20:48 »
Nice !
Which display model it is ?
I guess the new Asus display will cost an arm and a leg....

cavaricooper

  • Join date: Dec 2009
  • Location: KTPA
  • Posts: 976
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #564 on: Mon, 8 Jan 2018 22:41 »
It's a 65" 4K Sony XBR2- works beautifully, and was quite reasonable...

Best- C
Carl Avari-Cooper, KTPA

Felix.

  • Join date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 126
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #565 on: Tue, 6 Feb 2018 18:25 »
Any update on a native XP11 version? I'd prefer not to bother with P3D if possible.

Bastien

  • Join date: Feb 2014
  • Location: France
  • Posts: 41
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #566 on: Tue, 6 Feb 2018 19:17 »
hello,
I'm using a setup like cavaricooper with PSX and Xview/XP11 on 55" 4K LG TV !
It's working very well ;)
Even PSX alone on the full 4K screen is really impressive !
Bye
Bastien

Phil Bunch

  • Join date: May 2009
  • Posts: 1149
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #567 on: Tue, 6 Feb 2018 19:35 »
Does it require substantially increased load on the CPU or GPU to operate standalone PSX with a 4K display?  Should I expect the fps with standalone PSX (no external scenery) to change if I obtain a 4K monitor?
Best wishes,

Phil Bunch

evaamo

  • Join date: Jan 2010
  • Location: MMMX
  • Posts: 209
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #568 on: Tue, 6 Feb 2018 20:26 »
Phil,

I haven't noticed any FPS drop using native PSX in 4k.

I do have an Nvidia 1080TI tho'...

It's 72fps 95% of the time, with slight drops to 60-65 when panning around, but it's hardly noticeable.

Hope this helps.
cheers
-E
Enrique Vaamonde

Bastien

  • Join date: Feb 2014
  • Location: France
  • Posts: 41
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #569 on: Tue, 6 Feb 2018 21:38 »
Does it require substantially increased load on the CPU or GPU to operate standalone PSX with a 4K display?  Should I expect the fps with standalone PSX (no external scenery) to change if I obtain a 4K monitor?

Phil,
Before the 4K screen, I had a Full HD 27".
I haven't seen any performance issue
Regards
Bastien

GodAtum

  • Join date: Jun 2014
  • Posts: 495
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #570 on: Thu, 8 Feb 2018 21:14 »
been trying XP11 and PSX, works well but it does not report altitude, speed etc correctly in XFSUIPC.

Felix.

  • Join date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 126
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #571 on: Sun, 11 Feb 2018 16:44 »
Does anyone achieve smooth performance using xview? I've tried P3D and got sick of it within 15 mins.

CarlBB

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Melton Mowbray. U.K.
  • Posts: 203
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #572 on: Sun, 11 Feb 2018 18:20 »
With the acknowledgement and gratitude of all of the authors of the interfaces to the scenery generators firstly stated, my experience is PSX.NET. is more fluid than xview.

florismulock

  • Join date: Jul 2016
  • Posts: 177
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #573 on: Fri, 16 Feb 2018 10:55 »
mine xview doesnt work anymore, i wanted to retry aerowinx with x plane but unfortunally it doesnit work.i updated the x plane and added ixeg 737 aswell.

the xview isnt shown anymore in the addons, could the ixeg 737 mess the file up?

CarlBB

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Melton Mowbray. U.K.
  • Posts: 203
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #574 on: Sat, 17 Feb 2018 18:29 »
Not sure as I have a separate X-Plane 11 for PSX.
I shortcut back to Ortho so the overhead is not very high.
Reason I do this is back in X-Plane 10 I had something strange when using my main sim with xview. Doubt there is anything wrong, but for me it just feels right to keep my regular XP away from PSX scenery gen.
- Carl

Hammerstan

  • Join date: Mar 2017
  • Location: Melbourne
  • Posts: 23
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #575 on: Mon, 19 Feb 2018 12:07 »
I now have PSX + XP11 working extremely well across networked PCs.

Some videos: https://www.twitch.tv/hammerstan
No add-ons to XP11 other than Ortho4Xp and some airport scenery. 


A few gremlins:

(1) XSquawkbox cannot read my airspeed (set to nil) - Is Mike still working on a fix with Laminar?

(2) I can't send altitude and airspeed to Flight Illusion gauges - Flight Illusion advised that Hardy would need to build a PSX/Flight Illusion bridge (Flight Illusion would not work on it).  They offered free gauges to Hardy if this helped.

(3) A pushback function via the FMC would be handy

GodAtum

  • Join date: Jun 2014
  • Posts: 495
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #576 on: Mon, 19 Feb 2018 22:30 »
I now have PSX + XP11 working extremely well across networked PCs.

Some videos: https://www.twitch.tv/hammerstan
No add-ons to XP11 other than Ortho4Xp and some airport scenery. 


A few gremlins:

(1) XSquawkbox cannot read my airspeed (set to nil) - Is Mike still working on a fix with Laminar?

(2) I can't send altitude and airspeed to Flight Illusion gauges - Flight Illusion advised that Hardy would need to build a PSX/Flight Illusion bridge (Flight Illusion would not work on it).  They offered free gauges to Hardy if this helped.

(3) A pushback function via the FMC would be handy

Amazing setup, what screens and cockpit hardware do you use?

For point 3, I recommend Gary's PSX addon, which adds a center CDU pushback option.

mgeiss

  • Join date: Jan 2017
  • Location: EDDS/110/15
  • Posts: 49
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #577 on: Tue, 20 Feb 2018 04:05 »
(3) A pushback function via the FMC would be handy
If you don't mind having to call an X-Plane plugin for pushback, I would highly recommend using BetterPushback. You can set up the pushback path and end position very precisely. Even "multi-leg" pushbacks can be set up easily.

https://github.com/skiselkov/BetterPushbackC/releases

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3H0sucua2Wc

But you need to try if it works with Xview, because I don't know if
a) it can do the pushback when X-Plane's flight model is disabled. I use Better Pushback in X-Plane 10 and 11, but I'm not using Xview so I can't tell...
b) Xview submits the changes in lat/long and heading to PSX or if it's strictly one-way.
« Last edit: Tue, 20 Feb 2018 04:19 by mgeiss »
Cheers,
Matthias

Hammerstan

  • Join date: Mar 2017
  • Location: Melbourne
  • Posts: 23
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #578 on: Tue, 20 Feb 2018 09:54 »
Amazing setup, what screens and cockpit hardware do you use?

For point 3, I recommend Gary's PSX addon, which adds a center CDU pushback option.

Perhaps a discussion for another thread, but: 5 x 48inch LCD displays.  Hardware is a combination of home built machined aluminium/perspex components, plus professional products (Flightdeck Solutions, Flight Illusion gauges, CP Flight MCP, Open Cockpits CDUs, 737yoke.com, Leobodnar input cards, Phidget output LED cards, Interface IT cards from Flightdeck Solutions).  I've recently procured a genuine glare shield and 747 throttle quadrant to replace my home built TQ.

I've heard about pushback via Gary's PSX.net (for P3D) but I'm using XView for XP11.
« Last edit: Tue, 20 Feb 2018 10:17 by Hammerstan »

Hammerstan

  • Join date: Mar 2017
  • Location: Melbourne
  • Posts: 23
    • Email
Re: PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #579 on: Tue, 20 Feb 2018 09:59 »
If you don't mind having to call an X-Plane plugin for pushback, I would highly recommend using BetterPushback. You can set up the pushback path and end position very precisely. Even "multi-leg" pushbacks can be set up easily.

Thanks, but I don't believe Better Pushback can force XP11 to output via XView to PSX.  One way only PSX->XView->XP11