Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

News: The latest PSX update (version 10.42 from 16 August 2018) is available at: http://aerowinx.com/board/index.php?topic=4191.0

Author Topic: PSX + X-Plane for scenery  (Read 169049 times)

mikeindevon

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Devon, UK
  • Posts: 266
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #20 on: Thu, 31 Jul 2014 00:05 »
A small update (Version 1.01) has been placed on the server, which corrects a fault with more than 6 traffic planes. The maximum is 7.

You need only download the appropriate XView[nn].xpl file and the updated documentation.

Mike
« Last edit: Thu, 31 Jul 2014 00:06 by mikeindevon »

JRBarrett

  • Join date: Feb 2010
  • Location: Elmira, NY
  • Posts: 125
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #21 on: Mon, 4 Aug 2014 03:55 »
Hi Mike,

I downloaded XView and installed the plugin in 64-bit XP 10.25 in anticipation of the arrival of PSX (I am hoping it will be delivered in the next few days, as I pre-ordered from Aerosoft).

Anyway, fired up X-Plane with the plugin installed, obviously without PSX being present to drive it. Did note a few unusual things. Without PSX present to inject weather data into XView, X-Plane loads with the visibility set to 0.06sm, temperature at 32 F/0C, and barometric pressure at 00.00 in/hg! I assume this is because it is looking for the current weather from PSX.

I know that the instruction manual for XView states that PSX should be up and running BEFORE X-Plane is started - but the results I saw would seem to indicate that one cannot run X-Plane (with XView installed) in a non-PSX session - i.e. that one would have to move the plugin out of the X-Plane /resources/plugin folder whenever planning to run X-Plane normally... and only have plugin present when planning to use XP as a scenery generator for PSX?

It's no big problem to do that, but just wanted to know if the strange weather injection apparently coming from XView is to be expected when the plugin is running without PSX being present.

mikeindevon

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Devon, UK
  • Posts: 266
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #22 on: Mon, 4 Aug 2014 08:09 »
Hi JR,

You are right.  I wouldn't run an XView session without PSX.  To work XView must disable lots of things within X-Plane, the flight model for instance.  Also PSX Plane has had stuff removed that is not needed in an XView session.

I simply rename win.xpl to nowin.xpl.  Saves moving stuff around.

Mike

JRBarrett

  • Join date: Feb 2010
  • Location: Elmira, NY
  • Posts: 125
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #23 on: Mon, 4 Aug 2014 11:32 »
Quote from: mikeindevon

Hi JR,

You are right.  I wouldn't run an XView session without PSX.  To work XView must disable lots of things within X-Plane, the flight model for instance.  Also PSX Plane has had stuff removed that is not needed in an XView session.

I simply rename win.xpl to nowin.xpl.  Saves moving stuff around.

Mike


Ah! I shall do just that. Thanks for your work in creating this interface - can't wait to try it with PSX!

Jim Barrett

mikeindevon

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Devon, UK
  • Posts: 266
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #24 on: Mon, 4 Aug 2014 17:28 »
If you still have the low visibility etc with PSX running, you may need to go into the PSX weather screen and change something to cause PSX to update X-Plane's weather.

Guy13

  • Join date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 19
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #25 on: Mon, 4 Aug 2014 20:13 »
Hi,
Xview is only for windows or there will exist a version for Mac?
@+

mikeindevon

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Devon, UK
  • Posts: 266
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #26 on: Mon, 4 Aug 2014 20:45 »
See thread PSX on Mac scenery options

GodAtum

  • Join date: Jun 2014
  • Posts: 509
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #27 on: Fri, 8 Aug 2014 23:40 »
Hi,

im getting a crash when loading xplane:

Code: [Select]
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
  Application Name: X-Plane.exe
  Application Version: 10.3.0.8
  Application Timestamp: 53e3345e
  Fault Module Name: win.xpl
  Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
  Fault Module Timestamp: 52eb1ca6
  Exception Code: c0000005
  Exception Offset: 0000000000035004
  OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
  Locale ID: 2057
  Additional Information 1: c952
  Additional Information 2: c952ec7afd280c0ce7a9b7e224e601cb
  Additional Information 3: b345
  Additional Information 4: b3457953e065a0c11c4bd2ce205a6e30

Tércio Sampaio

  • Join date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 35
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #28 on: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 01:23 »
Hi,

To avoid problem with XView while not using the PSX+X-Plane integration i recommend you all do this:

Don't install the win.xpl (the plugin) on resources/plugins (this will avoid load this plugin in all aircrafts).

Install it inside the plugins folder that exist in the provided aircraft (PSX Plane).

The full path will be for 64 bits:

X-Plane 10\\Aircraft\\PSX Plane\\plugins\\XView\\64\\win.xpl

or for 32 bits

X-Plane 10\\Aircraft\\PSX Plane\\plugins\\XView\\32\\win.xpl

you can also install both xpl's files. The 64bits version to 64 folder and the 32 version to 32 folder. The X-Plane when running choose the correct folder/file.

With this, the XView plugin only run when you load this "special" aircraft. So only load it in your X-Plane + PSX sessions, when using X-Plane without PSX, don't load this aircraft and everything works without problems as before.

Regards

Tércio

P.S: Mike, Thank You about this plugin it works like a charm!!!! the sync is impressive, not as older PS1.3 + X-Plane integration that created many offset problems. With XView it join the best of 2 worlds, the best airliner simulation with the best world 3d representation and fluidity (without stutter).
« Last edit: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 01:30 by Tércio Sampaio »

Ivo de Colfmaker

  • Join date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Antwerp
  • Posts: 375
    • Email
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #29 on: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 09:26 »
Thank You very much for this wonderfull add on, it works very nice .
Ivo
A day at this forum is a day learned!

mikeindevon

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Devon, UK
  • Posts: 266
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #30 on: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 09:29 »
Quote from: GodAtum

Hi,
im getting a crash when loading xplane:


Make sure you have downloaded the latest version of XView, which was uploaded a couple of weeks ago. See XView release notes on the ftp server.
« Last edit: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 09:46 by mikeindevon »

mikeindevon

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Devon, UK
  • Posts: 266
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #31 on: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 09:30 »
Hi Tercio,

Good suggestion. I will update the manual.

Mike

mikeindevon

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Devon, UK
  • Posts: 266
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #32 on: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 11:11 »
X-Plane 10.3 beta 8 has been released by Laminar Research which includes a fix for the long-standing Botany Bay problem and many other scenery updates.

http://developer.x-plane.com/

Mike

Pierre Theillere

  • Join date: May 2009
  • Posts: 273
    • http://744.hoppie.nl/pierre/
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #33 on: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 11:15 »
Hi Mike!

And XView v1.01 has been fully tested OK with that same X-Plane 10.30b8 since yesterday evening! So: all good...
Pierre, LFPG

Tércio Sampaio

  • Join date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 35
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #34 on: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 12:28 »
Hi Mike,

Much better is if "PSX Plane" already includes the 2 plugins (32 and 64 bits) inside the zip with the structure that i told. Then the installation will be only unzip the zip file to the x-plane aircraft folder (nothing more). As simple as that, no need to rename files and copy separate files.

Best regards

Tercio
« Last edit: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 12:28 by Tércio Sampaio »

mikeindevon

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Devon, UK
  • Posts: 266
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #35 on: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 13:57 »
One slight problem with that is the size of the PSX Plane file.  At getting on for 100Mb, it is a lot to download for any update of an imbedded XView.xpl.  Again, a good idea though.

mikeindevon

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Devon, UK
  • Posts: 266
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #36 on: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 14:00 »
Quote from: GodAtum

I'm getting a crash when loading xplane.


Has your problem now gone away?

Mike

GodAtum

  • Join date: Jun 2014
  • Posts: 509
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #37 on: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 14:48 »
Quote from: mikeindevon

Quote from: GodAtum

I'm getting a crash when loading xplane.


Has your problem now gone away?

Mike


yes i ahd to delte xsqwuarkbox

mikeindevon

  • Join date: Jun 2009
  • Location: Devon, UK
  • Posts: 266
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #38 on: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 15:12 »
There was a problem with V1.00 if the number of traffic planes was greater than 6, although it says max is 7 in the user guide.

V1.01 corrects that and limits the number of planes to seven in XView.  Do you see the problem with 1.01 and XSquawkbox?

Mike

JRBarrett

  • Join date: Feb 2010
  • Location: Elmira, NY
  • Posts: 125
PSX + X-Plane for scenery
« Reply #39 on: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 15:26 »
Quote from: mikeindevon

There was a problem with V1.00 if the number of traffic planes was greater than 6, although it says max is 7 in the user guide.

V1.01 corrects that and limits the number of planes to seven in XView.  Do you see the problem with 1.01 and XSquawkbox?

Mike


My experience has been that XSquawkbox is rather unstable and crash-prone in XP10.30.x 64-bit, no matter what other plugins may be installed. I have problems with it even if it is the only non-default plugin. Hopefully the new Vatsim client under development ("Swift") will solve that problem.
« Last edit: Sat, 9 Aug 2014 15:27 by JRBarrett »